National development zones

Tianjin Economic-Technological Development Area

Updated: Oct 24, 2018 investinchina.chinaservicesinfo.com Print
Share - WeChat


File photo of TEDA modern service district. [Photo/teda.gov.cn]

Tianjin Economic-Technological Development Area (TEDA) was approved by the State Council on Dec 6, 1984 and is one of the first batch of State-level development zones in China.

It has now expanded to more than 400 square kilometers from the initial 33 square kilometers and is home to 10 sub-parks with clear industrial positioning and developmental direction.

TEDA was honored as an economic zone with the most investment potential in China at the first World Industry Park Cooperation Forum in 2010 and ranks first among Chinese AAA-grade industrial parks by Singapore’s China Knowledge Group. In 2013, it was identified as “the most vigorous region in China” by the United Nations Industrial Development Organization.

TEDA has continued holding a leading position in comprehensive economic strength and development among the State-level economic and technological areas released by the Ministry of Commerce since 1997.

In 2017, the added value of TEDA was 84.67 billion yuan ($12.24 billion) and it has conducted trade with 180 countries and regions, including 172 destinations for export.

The expenditure on scientific and technological innovation was 14.5 billion yuan. It houses 15 incubation centers in a floorage of 1.18 million square meters.


Copyright©2024 China Daily. All rights reserved.


京公网安 京公网安备 11010502032503号