Feihong Pagoda
Amid the verdant trees of suburban Hongtong county seat sits Guangsheng Temple, a complex of Yuan (1271-1368) and Ming (1368-1644) structures. Built in the 2nd century and given its current name in the Tang Dynasty (618-907), it has been destroyed and rebuilt several times. Atop the mountain stands the 13-story octagonal Feihong Pagoda, or "Flying Rainbow Pagoda". As its name suggests, the 500-year-old tower is adorned with colored glaze motifs featuring Buddhist figures, animals, flowers and jewels, with wind chimes hanging from the eaves of each tier. At the foot of the mountain, the Shuishen Temple is known for its Yuan Dynasty murals, particularly one depicting a stage performance of the time.
Festivals & Cutoms
Lishan Torch Festival concludes in Chongqing, draws over 100,000 visitors
Festivals & Cutoms
Zhengding Folk Art Performance draws 30 troupes for Lantern Festival